Live Design is part of the divisionName Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Little Foxes set design Geoffrey Wade Photography
John Iacovelli won for his Set Design of The Little Foxes at Antaeus Theatre Company

The Winners of the 50th L.A. Drama Critics Circle Awards

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle celebrated its 50th annual awards, which honors distinguished achievement in theatre. The ceremony was held on Monday, April 8 at the Pasadena Playhouse.

Below are the design winners:

Set Design

  • Stephen Gifford for Cabaret at Celebration Theatre
  • John Iacovelli for The Little Foxes at Antaeus Theatre Company

Lighting design

  • Matthew Brian Denman for Cabaret at Celebration Theatre
  • Andrew Schmedake for Native Son at Antaeus Theatre Company

Costume design

  • Allison Dillard for Bliss (or Emily Post is Dead!) at Moving Arts at Atwater Village Theatre
  • Allison Dillard for Priscilla, Queen of the Desert at Celebration Theatre

Sound design

  • Jeff Gardner for Native Son at Antaeus Theatre Company
  • Joshua D. Reid for A Christmas Carol at Geffen Playhouse

CGI / Projection

  • Kaitlyn Pietras and Jason H. Thompson for Vietgone at East West Players


  • Jim Steinmeyer, illusions, stagecraft and magic carpet for Aladdin at Hollywood Pantages Theatre

The Kinetic Lighting Award for theatrical design to sound designer Robert Oriol was announced previously.

Check out the full list of winners on The LA Times.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.