Live Design is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

The Ferryman Drama Desk Award sound design Joan Marcus
The Ferryman

Winners of the 2019 Drama Desk Awards

The 2019 Drama Desk Awards, honoring productions on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway during the 2018-2019 New York theatre season, were presented yesterday, June 2, at The Town Hall in Manhattan. Tootsie, Hadestown, and The Ferryman all went home with four wins each. The Prom was named Outstanding Musical.

Check out the winners in the design categories below. Read the full list of winners here.

Outstanding Set Design of a Play
Matt Saunders, "Daddy"

Outstanding Set Design for a Musical
David Korins, Beetlejuice

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Play
Amith Chandrashaker, Boesman and Lena

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical
Bradley King, Hadestown

Outstanding Projection Design
Peter England, King Kong

Outstanding Sound Design in a Play
Nick Powell, The Ferryman

Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical
Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Outstanding Costume Design for a Play
Toni-Leslie James, Bernhardt/Hamlet

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical
Bob Mackie, The Cher Show

Outstanding Puppet Design
Sonny Tilders, King Kong

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.