Winners of 2014 John And Helen Meyer Scholarships Announced

(Photo: Paul Fronc)

Meyer Sound and Live Design are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 John and Helen Meyer Scholarships to the Live Design Broadway Sound Master Classes. The awards were presented on Friday, June 6 at a reception sponsored by Meyer Sound at City Winery in New York City, at the close of this year’s classes.

In 2011, Meyer Sound established the John and Helen Meyer Scholarships, which are available to promising sound designers from around the world, allowing them to attend the BSMC. This is the fourth year that Live Design is pleased to honor a great group of six budding sound designers, from students to young professionals. To date, the winners have come from as far afield as China, Germany, and Greece, with the majority from the United States.

The 2014 Meyer Scholarship winners are:

Ben Bloomberg: An MIT student working on performance systems, sound design, and composition with Tod Machover at the MIT Media Lab

Ai Chen: An international student from China currently studying sound design at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts. 

Dan Miele: A BFA Candidate in sound design, in the class of 2016 at Carnegie Mellon University

Mackenzie Ellis: A BFA in theatre from Virginia Commonwealth University, Magna Cum Laude 2013

Lamar Farr: University Of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign College of Fine and Applied Arts, class of 2015, concentration in sound design technology

Shannon O'Neill: Since earning her MFA in 2012, she has been working as an instructor of sound at Illinois State University

“The Broadway Sound Master Classes provide a great opportunity for those with a passion for theatrical art and a drive to learn from the industry’s best. Meyer Sound is pleased to continue our support for the program and the scholarship winners. We look forward to hearing their work on Broadway and beyond,” says Helen Meyer, executive vice president, Meyer Sound.

Past winners:

2011: David Corsello, Alyssha Iishi, William Fallon, Daniel Lundberg, Joshua Reid, and Jessica Weeks

2012: John DaSilva, Anthony Mattana, Jeff Sherwood, Rebecca Stoll, Katherine Vamva, Chris Wood

2013: Jacqueline Anscombe, Maggie Burke, Alexandria Bottiglieri, David Crawford, Rachel Miller, Torben Kärst

Suggested Articles:

Vote for the most outstanding projects of Design Achievement Awards to determine the winners in Theatre, Live For Broadcast, and Concerts & Events.

An in-depth look at the plot for A View From The Bridge.

Sweet Land began in the scene called The Contact, where Hana S. Kim's projections were displayed on a scrim surface.