Lortel Awards Design Nominations Announced


The 2009 nominees have been announced for the Lucille Lortel Awards

honoring outstanding achievement Off- Broadway. The awards will be announced on Sunday, May 3 at the Off Broadway Ballroom at the Marriott Marquis in New York.

Here are the design nominees for this year:

Outstanding Scenic Design
Beowulf Boritt, Animals Out of Paper
Marina Draghici, Fela! A New Musical
Roger Hanna, The Glass Cage
James Schuette, Wig Out!
David Zinn, Chair

Outstanding Costume Design
Marina Draghici, Fela! A New Musical
Ann Hould-Ward,Road Show
Toni-Leslie James, Wig Out!
Karen Perry,The First Breeze of Summer
Theresa Squire, Rafta, Rafta...

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Garden of Earthly Delights
Mark Barton, Chair
Lap Chi Chu, The Good Negro
Marcus Doshi, Othello
Jason Lyons, Mourning Becomes Electra

Outstanding Sound Design
Quentin Chiappetta,Irena's Vow
John Gromada, Shipwrecked! An Entertainment
Robert Kaplowitz, Wig Out!
Jane Shaw, The Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd
Matt Tierney, The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928)

Suggested Articles:

Meet David Stewart, a production manager with an important mission.

Happy 4th of July y'all ... see what's on the online menu this weekend.

Scenic designer Christine Jones shares how she is coping with COVID-19 closings.