2015 Helen Hayes Award Winners Announced

2015 Helen Hayes Award Winners Announced

Side Show.

Last night at the Lincoln Theatre, the 2015 Helen Hayes Awards were announced, honoring excellence on Washington stages, according to BroadwayWorld.com. For the 2014 season, 50 theatres produced 188 productions that met eligibility standards. Judges reviewed the 26,183 scores for 2,435 pieces of work that the theatres submitted. From these submissions, 264 artists, ensembles, and productions from 31 theatres received Helen Hayes Awards nominations. For the awards, The "Helen" and "Hayes" category divisions are based upon the ratio of actors working in the production under an Actors' Equity contract. 

Below are the winners of the design categories.

Outstanding Sound Design - Helen Production

Matthew M. Nielson and Christopher Baine, The Wonderful World Of DissociaTheatre Alliance

Outstanding Sound Design - Hayes Production

Christopher Baine, ColossalOlney Theatre Center

Outstanding Lighting Design - Helen Production

John Burkland, The Wonderful World Of Dissocia, Theatre Alliance

Outstanding Lighting Design - Hayes Production

Philip S. Rosenberg, Private Lives, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Costume Design - Helen Production

Kendra Rai, The Island Of Dr. MoreauSynetic Theatre

Outstanding Costume Design - Hayes Production

Paul Tazewell, Side ShowThe Kennedy Center

Outstanding Set Design - Helen Production

Dan Conway, Tiny Tim's Christmas CarolAdventure Theatre MTC

Outstanding Set Design - Hayes Production

Eric J. Van Wyk, The BFGImagination Stage

Outstanding Choreography in a Play - Helen Production

Irina Tsikurishvili (choreographer) and Ben Cunis (fight choreographer), Twelfth Night, Synetic Theatre

Outstanding Choreography in a Play - Hayes Production

Ben Cunis (fight & movement choreographer) and Christopher D'Amboise (choreographer), Colossal, Olney Theatre Center

Outstanding Choreography in a Musical - Helen Production

Mark Minnick, SpamalotToby's Dinner Theatre

Outstanding Choreography in a Musical - Hayes Production

Susan Stroman, Little Dancer, The Kennedy Center

Outstanding Musical Direction - Helen Production

e'marcus Harper-Short, Black Nativity, Theatre Alliance

For the full list, visit BroadwayWorld.com

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.