The 2014 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards Announced

The 2014 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards Announced

Irene Sharaff

The 2014 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards have been announced. Selected by the TDF Costume Collection's Advisory Committee, Marjorie Bradley Kellogg is to receive the Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design; Deborah M. Dryden will receive TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award for Costume Design; Linda Cho is to receive the TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award; Marianne Krostyne will receive the TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award.

Presented through the Theatre Development Fund's Costume Collection, the awards will be presented Friday, May 2, at 6:30 p.m. at the Hudson Theatre. Director Kenny Leon and designer David Woolard will present the awards to Kellogg and Dryden, respectively. Additionally, director David Tresnjak and designer Zach Brown will present the awards to Cho and Krostyne, respectively.

As a memorial tribute to costume designer Sam Kirkpatrick, an original 15-minute film of his life, created by Suzy Benzinger, will be screened.

The 2014 TDF/Irene Sharaff awardees demonstrate Irene Sharaff’s elegance and attention to detail towards creating the best of costume design.

About the Awardees

Marjorie Bradley Kellogg’s (Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design) work for Passions recently appeared in the 2013 Glimmerglass Festival season and this spring, in a production of Othello at Minneapolis’ Guthrie Theater. She received the 2006 Distinguished Achievement in Scenic Design from USITT, the 2002 Ruth Morley Design Award, and the 1995 Mary L. Murphy Award for Excellence in Design.

Deborah M. Dryden (TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award) recently designed costumes for Robert Schenkkan’s All The Way at the Neil Simon Theatre, New York. She is currently working on part II of The Great Society which will premiere at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in July, 2014. Deborah holds the position of Resident Costume Designer Emerita for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival for which she designed for 34 seasons, retiring from that post in 2012.

Linda Cho

Linda Cho (TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award) is currently represented on Broadway with two shows: A Gentlemen's Guide to Love and Murder at the Walter Kerr and Velocity of Autumn at the Booth Theater.  

Marianne Krostyne (TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award) has designed costumes for Broadway, opera, and television, including credits such as Anything Goes, Faust at the Met, and NBC’s The Sound of Music with Catherine Zuber, respectively.

Sam Kirkpatrick (Memorial Tribute) has designed productions for opera, theatre, ballet, and film, among such credits are Prima Donna (1966) for the London Opera Theatre, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1966) for Nissei Theatre, Tokyo, Singular Moves (1966) for the Ballet Rambert of London, Orson Welles’ film Chimes at Midnight (1965), and more.

About the Awards

The Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design not only honors the name of Robert Tobin, but also symbolizes his passion, respect and esteem for the art of theatrical design. The recipient of this award has achieved a career so distinguished in theatrical design that his or her work becomes an example to all designers of the beauty, feeling and empathy that a designer creates through true mastery of this art.

The TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award, first presented to the legendary Miss Sharaff in 1993, is bestowed upon a costume designer who, over the course of his or her career, has achieved great distinction and demonstrated a mastery of the art.

The TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award is presented to a designer whose work, beyond being promising, has come to fruition.

The TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award recognizes an individual or company that has made an outstanding supportive contribution in the field of costume technology.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.