PLASA Volunteer Of The Year Award To ETCP Experts

PLASA Volunteer Of The Year Award To ETCP Experts

PLASA will present the 2015 Volunteer of the Year Award to the ETCP Entertainment Electrician Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) for their continued dedication and extraordinary amount of work with the ETCP Program. The award to the SMEs will be presented by Eddie Raymond, chair of the PLASA North American Regional Board and Tim Hansen, Chair of the ETCP Council at the PLASA AGM at LDI October 22 from 2:30pm - 4:30pm at the Las Vegas Westgate Casino and Resort.

The recipients will be as follows: Rick Baxter, Eric Bouchard, Don Earl, Jeanette Farmer, Ian Foulds, Tony Giovannetti, David Hatch, Mitch Hefter, John Huntington, Dave Loftin, Jim Maloney, Mark O’Brien, Martin Eric Rimes, Alan Rowe (co-chair), Steve Terry, Abby Tutorow,  Steve Vanciel, Ken Vannice (co-chair), and Keith Woods. 

It is vital to ETCP that both the development process and the examinations themselves are professionally sound and legally defensible. The ETCP Council appointed volunteer subject matter experts (SMEs), recommended by the SME Chairs and their peers, to work with a firm contracted for psychometric (testing and measurement) services. The SMEs defined the necessary content areas that are represented on the examinations, as well as wrote the examination questions. The SMEs began work in 2005 for the first round of Entertainment Electrician testing at LDI in 2006, and the first practice exams were created in 2009.  In order to keep the electrical examination fresh and current, in 2014 they created a completely new bank of questions to add to the pool. This summer, they have laid the groundwork for a set of practice examinations that will launch this fall. ETCP is extremely grateful for the countless hours of work from these devoted industry professionals.

The Volunteer of the Year award was created to honor Frank Stewart’s unrivaled service to ESTA/PLASA during the 18 years that he served as its Treasurer. This award recognizes extraordinary effort by a volunteer or group of volunteers during the previous year and is bestowed by the PLASA North American Regional Board.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.