Poor Things & Oppenheimer Dominate The Design & Technical BAFTAs

The British Academy Film Arts Awards (BAFTAs) were held on February 18, 2024 in the London's Royal Festival Hall.

Hosted by Scottish actor David Tennant, the set design for the event was created by New York-based designer Julio Himede and Yellow Studio and featured a ribbon silhouette interpretation of the iconic BAFTA award Greek mask.

RELATED: Julio Himede’s Grand Brushstroke At The 2024 GRAMMY Awards

The annual awards honor the best domestic and foreign films, and include awards for performance in the previous year's film releases, in addition to film arts and technical accomplishments.  Below are the awards given in the technical and design categories, the winners are in bold.

Production design

  • WINNER - POOR THINGS Shona Heath, James Price, Zsuzsa Mihalek
  • BARBIE Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
  • KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON Jack Fisk, Adam Willis
  • OPPENHEIMER Ruth De Jong, Claire Kaufman
  • THE ZONE OF INTEREST Chris Oddy, Joanna Maria Kuś, Katarzyna Sikora


  • WINNER: THE ZONE OF INTEREST Johnnie Burn, Tarn Willers
  • FERRARI Angelo Bonanni, Tony Lamberti, Andy Nelson, Lee Orloff, Bernard Weiser
  • MAESTRO Richard King, Steve Morrow, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder, Dean Zupancic
  • MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – DEAD RECKONING PART ONE Chris Burdon, James H. Mather, Chris Munro, Mark Taylor
  • OPPENHEIMER Willie Burton, Richard King, Kevin O'Connell, Gary A. Rizzo

Costume design

  • WINNER: POOR THINGS Holly Waddington
  • BARBIE Jacqueline Durran
  • NAPOLEON Dave Crossman, Janty Yates
  • OPPENHEIMER Ellen Mirojnick

Make-up and hair

  • WINNER - POOR THINGS Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier, Josh Weston
  • KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON Kay Georgiou, Thomas Nellen
  • MAESTRO Sian Grigg, Kay Georgiou, Kazu Hiro, Lori McCoy-Bell
  • NAPOLEON Jana Carboni, Francesco Pegoretti, Satinder Chumber, Julia Vernon
  • OPPENHEIMER Luisa Abel, Jaime Leigh McIntosh, Jason Hamer, Ahou Mofid


  • Winner: Oppenheimer
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Maestro
  • Poor Things
  • The Zone of Interest


  • WINNER - OPPENHEIMER Jennifer Lame
  • ANATOMY OF A FALL Laurent Sénéchal
  • KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON Thelma Schoonmaker
  • POOR THINGS Yorgos Mavropsaridis

Special visual effects

  • WINNER: POOR THINGS Tim Barter, Simon Hughes, Dean Koonjul, Jane Paton
  • THE CREATOR Jonathan Bullock, Charmaine Chan, Ian Comley, Jay Cooper
  • GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL. 3 Theo Bialek, Stephane Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot, Guy Williams
  • MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – DEAD RECKONING PART ONE Neil Corbould, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland, Alex Wuttke
  • NAPOLEON Henry Badgett, Neil Corbould, Charley Henley, Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet

The BAFTA Award for Outstanding British Contribution To Cinema went to June Givanni, creator of the Pan-African Cinema Archive.

For a complete list of winners, see BAFTA.org.