The LDI2022 Awards

The Saturday evening celebrations began on the show floor with another blazing performance by SkyFire Arts. Jessi Cybulski, LDI show director, welcomed the LDI community to the live event stage next to the Circle Bar, which was once again provided by Andrew Gumper and AG Productions. 

The awards began with USITT President Carolyn Satter, who read out the following statement from Pat MacKay, before introducing the recipients of this year's Pat MacKay Diversity In Design scholarship winners. "I’m  honored that for the last four years I have been part of the team—along with working design professionals and members of the LDI staff-- that adjudicates the MacKay Diversity in Design Scholars. This year the process was particularly challenging and exciting…so many students with so much talent.  It gives us all great hope for the future of a really diversified design profession.”

KOI award-winning lighting designer Roma Flowers invited the 2022 scholarship recipients to the stage.

  • Emily Pan
  • Isaac Castillo
  • Kayla Chen
  • Niya John
  • Renata Finamore
  • Sunaina Singh

Paky Award

The Paky Award was created in 2014 in honor of Mr. Pasquale “Paky” Quadri, founder of Claypaky and one of the leaders of the international lighting industry who passed away that year.

Marcus Graser, CEO of Claypaky, presented this year’s award to Tony Award-winning lighting designer Donald Holder

Sustainability Award

The third annual Sustainability Award went to Hazebase America, for cleverly using their shipping materials as display furniture to reduce the need to cut down trees. The award was accepted by Bruce Bandy.

Booth Awards

LDI sales director Kelly Turner presented this year’s booth awards.

Best Small Booth

Environmental Lights utilized its own gear to build the booth in a clever and engaging way–it was a small booth that really stood out among the larger booths. Robert Dempsey and Michael Krupinsky accepted the award.

Mark Doyle
(Mark Doyle)

Best Creative Use of Light 

Claypaky won for a light show that highlighted its new fixtures. George Masek and Giovanni Zucchinali accepted.

Mark Doyle
(Mark Doyle)

The Best Product Presentation Award

ACT Entertainment won for a great guest experience, with a large number of well-placed consoles, and all the lights were both hanging for display and accessible in the booth. Darius Seabaugh and Ryan Hindinger accepted the award.

Mark Doyle
(Mark Doyle)

Best Large Booth Award

CHAUVET Professional did an amazing job of bringing the outside inside to highlight their IP65-rated gear. Caroline Chauvet accepted the award.

Mark Doyle
(Mark Doyle)

Product Awards

Hannah Kinnersley, content manager for Live Design Magazine, presented the first three product awards.

The Sound Award

enCaption by ENCO Systems is a new solution for bringing fully-automated, onsite-generated captions to the live event & entertainment industry. It’s a fast and highly-accurate fully on-premises solution that needs no Internet and can be fed to a variety of display platforms. The award was accepted by Bill Bennett.

The WIDGET Award

The judges recognize the new Hubbell Twist Lock Edge series for improving speed and safety for wiring and maintaining the connectors used in our daily work. Their spring tension terminal technology is a simple but substantial upgrade to an age old design. Roy Itzler accepted the award.

Special Effects Honorable Mention

The Smoke Genie -- Smoke GENIE is a Game-changing handheld Smoke Machine for Creators. 

Special Effects Award

THE FAB HAZER by Hazebase America impressed the judges with several innovations to haze technology, including improvements in fluid technology, cleaning technology, sensors that tell you when it needs fluid, versatile hang-ability, and QR codes for manuals and MSDs. Bruce Bandy accepted the award.

Ellen Lampert-Gréaux, conference director for LDI and Live Design Magazine editor, presented the rest of the product awards.

Staging and Rigging Award

The judges were thrilled to recognize the innovations in the Harlequin Liberty Switch from Harlequin Floors. From simple daily maintenance around the stage to saving an enormous amount of time and money changing over to sprung floors, Harlequin Liberty Switch is a true innovation.Guy Dagger accepted the award. 

The Projection Award

This award went to Muxwave Transparent LED Screen by Shenzhen Muxwave Technology. The judges were wowed by Muxwave’s  transparent LED screen’s almost invisible led surface. Its total lack of internal vertical support means there is nothing interrupting the visual story telling for the audience.  It is also ultra light weight and innovative in it execution. Jestan Yin accepted the award.

Lighting Controls Honorable Mention

CRMX STARDUST by LumenRadio Capable of delivering eight DMX/RDM universes and expanding the function of Cognitive-Coexistence with the new Fleet Alliance*, it has an enhanced radio design that allows for record breaking ranges on all eight universes simultaneously.

Lighting Control Award

ProPlex BuckBoost System by TMB. The BuckBoost Drive System overcomes the cable length challenge of low voltage LED lighting by centralizing both data and power through a single cable.  The system is completely programmable making it a simple installation for any electrical contractor. Ainar Pastars & Colin Waters accepted the award.

The Lighting Fixtures Honorable Mention

MAC AURA XIP by Martin, a premium moving head wash light with a radical aura filament effect and full pixel control with video mapping capabilities onto the beam, aura, or both.

The Lighting Fixtures Award

The SULLY 4C by Robert Juliat has an interactive color-control system that allows users to create the exact color and fade characteristics emulating any type of lighting fixture. François Juliat and Ryan Hindinger accepted the award.