USITT Sets Deadline for Theatre Architecture Awards

United States Institute for Theatre Technology has announced that October 2 is the deadline for submissions for its 2002 architecture awards program. Nominations will be accepted for projects located anywhere in the world. New construction, renovations, retrofits, or reuse of structures will be considered.

The review panel for the awards includes Malcolm Holzman, FAIA, noted architect and founding partner of Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates, LLP, and Cathleen McGuigan, senior editor and architecture critic for Newsweek.

To be eligible for the awards, project construction must have been completed after January 1, 1992. Winners in 2001 included Severence Hall in Cleveland, OH; Theatre and Congress Hall Weimar in Weimar, Germany; The Lowry in Salford, United Kingdom; The Ann and Richard Barshinger Center for Musical Arts in Hensel Hall in Lancaster, PA: and the Robert Schonhorn Arts Center at Matheny School and Hospital in Peapack, NJ.

Complete eligibility and submissions requirements, and entry forms, are available on the USITT website,, or from the Institute office at 800-93USITT.

Suggested Articles:

There are two call to actions today. They are very urgent and we need you to forward this to everyone you can. Time is short.

Guest host and lighting designer Alan Edwards chats with Steve Jones, former Director of Production at the Apollo Theatre in New York City.

The President signed four Executive Orders, including continuation of Enhanced Unemployment Insurance as created in the CARES Act but at $400 per week