Sesame Street set Courtesy of David Gallo
Sesame Street

Sesame Street Takes Home Emmy For Scenic Design

Sesame Street won five awards at the 44th Annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design.

The 44th Annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, recognizing excellence in all fields of daytime television production for programs broadcast from 2 a.m. to 6 p.m. during 2016, were held Friday, April 28 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. Within the individual programs, Netflix's Trollhunters led with six wins, while HBO's Sesame Street, NBC's Days Of Our Lives, PBS' Odd Squad, and Amazon's The Bay the Series followed with five each. Sesame Street took home two design awards, including art direction/set design and sound editing. Read about production designer David Gallo's redesign of the beloved show's set.

The list of design category winners is below. Check out the full list of winners here.

Courtesy of David Gallo

Sesame Street set model

Outstanding Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design

Sesame Street (HBO)

Production Designer: David Gallo

Art Directors: Keith Olsen, Randall Richards


Outstanding Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design for a Drama Series

The Young And The Restless (CBS)

Production Designer: David Hoffmann

Art Director: Jennifer Savala

Set Decorators: Fred Cooper, Jennifer Haybach, Jennifer Herwitt


Outstanding Lighting Direction

The Talk (CBS)

Lighting Designer: Marisa Davis

Lighting Director: Kelly Waldman


Outstanding Lighting Direction for a Drama Series

The Young And The Restless (CBS)

Lighting Directors: William Roberts, Ray Thompson


Outstanding Technical Team

CBS Sunday Morning (CBS)

Technical Directors: Mark Haffner, Steven Schnall

Stage Technical Directors: Leonard Mancini Jr., Anthony Vitelli

Senior Video: Neal Kassner, Mark Ogden, John Cione, David Weiss, Art Starr, Dominic Maldari

Camera Operators: Kevin Bailey, Allen Brown, Robert Cauttero, John Curtin, Daniel Flaherty, Lee McGuffey Wardan


Outstanding Technical Team for a Drama Series

The Bold And The Beautiful (CBS)

Technical Directors: Gary Chamberlin, Jim Dray

Camera Operators: John Carlson, Dean Lamont, Ted Morales

Video Control: Roberto Bosio, Scha Jani


Outstanding Costume Design/Styling

Odd Squad (PBS)

Costume Designer Christine Toye


Outstanding Costume Design for a Drama Series

The Bold And The Beautiful (CBS)

Costume Designer: Glenda Maddox


Outstanding Main Title and Graphic Design

The Mind Of A Chef (PBS)

Director of Design: Mike Houston

Graphic Artists: Ryan Frost, Angelique Georges, Naoko Saito

Art Director: Daniel de Graaf


Outstanding Live and Direct to Tape Sound Mixing

The Ellen DeGeneres Show (Syndicated)

Production Mixer: Terry Fountain

Pre-Production Mixer: Dirk Sciarrotta

FOH Mixer: Phil Gebhardt


Outstanding Sound Mixing – Live Action

The Mind Of A Chef (PBS)

Re-Recording Mixers: Brian Bracken, Pat Donahue, Benny Mouthon, Andrey Netboy, Lou Teti


Outstanding Sound Mixing – Animation

Lost In Oz: Extended Adventure (Amazon)

Re-Recording Mixer: Patrick Rodman, CAS

Dialogue Production Engineer: Ricky Watson


Outstanding Sound Mixing – Preschool Animated Program

Disney Sofia The First (Disney Jr.)

Re-Recording Mixers: Timothy J. Borquez, Nicholas Gotten, III


Outstanding Sound Editing – Live Action

Sesame Street (HBO)

Supervising Sound Editors: Michael Barrett, Chris Prinzivalli Supervising Music Editor Michael Croiter

Music Editors: Jorge Muelle, Paul Rudolph

Sound Editor: Chris Sassano

Sound Effects: Editor Dick Maitland, C.A.S.


Outstanding Sound Editing – Animation

Lost In Oz: Extended Adventure (Amazon)

Sound Supervisors: Patrick Rodman, CAS, Eric P. Sherman

Dialogue Editor: James Scullion

ADR Editor: Ricky Watson

Sound Effects Editors: Justin Kohler, Eric Paulsen

Foley Mixers: Tony Solis, Dicken Berglund


Outstanding Sound Editing – Preschool Animated Program

Dinotrux (Netflix/Dreamworks Animation)

Sound Supervisor: Devon G. Bowman

Sound Supervisor/Sound Designer: Rob McIntyre

Sound Editors: Andrew Ing, DJ Lynch, Marc Schmidt

Sound Editor/Foley Editor: Alfredo Douglas

Foley Editor: Roberto Dominguez Alegria

Foley Artist: Monique Reymond

Dialogue Editor: Shawn Bohonos

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.