Rising Star Award Nominations Due By August 15

Rising Star Award Nominations Due By August 15

2015 Rising Star winner Chris Wood and 2006 Rising Star winner Justin Townsend at the New York Master Classes: Lighting + Projection 2015.

Nominations are now open for USITT's 2016 Rising Star Award, sponsored and presented annually by LDI/Live Design. This prestigious Rising Star Award, which was launched in 2005, recognizes young professionals in the early years of their careers for artistic excellence in the areas of lighting, sound, scenic, and projection design or the convergence of design disciplines. A recipient must be in the first four years of professional (non-academic) work following the completion of his or her highest degree. Nominations are due by August 15, with portfolios to follow by September 15.

“We are extremely proud of all of our previous Rising Star winners,” says Ellen Lampert-Gréaux, creative director for LDI/Live Design. “Two of them, lighting designer Justin Townsend, who is also teaching at Brooklyn College, and sound designer Elisheba Ittoop, were recently speakers at our New York Master Classes, and others have been on panels at LDI, are already teaching future generations, and are enjoying successful careers.”

Learn how to nominate a potential Rising Star or email shannan@usitt.org.

The 2016 Rising Star Award winner will receive $1,000, plus a one-year individual membership to USITT, and a complimentary registration for the USITT Annual Conference & Stage Expo, which will be held March 16-19, 2016 in Salt Lake City.

Online nominations must be submitted and received in the USITT office by August 15, 2015. Approved nominees will be notified to login to the online portfolio submission pages through September 15.

Past Recipients

2015 Chris Wood, lighting & sound designer

2014 Janie Bullard, sound designer

2013 Aaron Porter, lighting designer

2012 Jason Simms, scene designer

2011 Daniel Brodie, projection designer

2010 Ben Pilat, lighting designer

2009 Sean Savoie, lighting designer

2008 Elisheba Ittoop, sound designer

2007 John Horan, lighting designer

2006 Justin Townsend, scenic and lighting designer

2005 Kelly Hanson, scenic designer 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.