Philips Selected For 2008 Stars Of Energy Chairman’s Award


Philips Electronics is proud to announce that it has been selected for the Alliance to Save Energy’s 2008 “Stars of Energy Efficiency” Chairman’s Award. Established to recognize the nation’s most proactive champions of energy-efficiency, the Alliance to Save Energy’s Chairman’s Award recognizes Philips based on its 2007 formation and leadership of the Lighting Efficiency Coalition, a collaborative effort by the lighting industry, environmental groups, and legislators to establish new energy efficiency standards for lighting and help phase out less-efficient lighting technologies in the interests of reducing the nation’s energy consumption and promoting greater sustainability. The Lighting Efficiency Coalition was formed under Philips leadership and was driven and energized by Philips’ encouragement of governments around the world to adopt policies to remove the least efficient lighting products from the market.

This year’s Chairman’s Award was chosen by Alliance Board honorary chair Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.), and recognized how Philips spearheaded the successful efforts of the Lighting Efficiency Coalition to develop and gain enactment of an orderly industry-wide phase-out of inefficient lighting under the Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) of 2007. In addition to securing support from other major lighting manufacturers, the group of energy-efficiency advocates within the Lighting Efficiency Coalition included the Alliance to Save Energy, the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE), the Appliance Standards Awareness Project, Californians Against Waste, the Earth Day Network, and the Natural Resources Defense Council.

Developed as an outcome of the Lighting Efficiency Coalition’s successful efforts and signed into law in December 2007, EISA establishes technology-neutral, performance-based lighting efficiency standards as well as government incentives to accelerate the use of compact fluorescent light bulbs (CFLs), light-emitting diodes (LEDs), and energy-efficient halogen lamps, which will result in significant economic, environmental, and energy-saving benefits. The coalition projects that the transition to more efficient lighting, in part due to the new EISA standards, will exceed the combined energy and money savings of all 21 federal appliance standards adopted since 2000. By 2020, the improved lighting is expected to lower consumers’ annual electricity bills by more than $13 billion and save more than 140 billion kilowatt hours (kwh) a year—an amount exceeding that used by all homes in Texas.

Says chairman of Philips Lighting North America Kaj den Daas of the chairman’s Award, "we are honored and delighted to be recognized for this prestigious distinction by the Alliance to Save Energy and to help enhance our nation's sustainability and drive a more energy-efficient future for generations to come through the landmark efforts of the Lighting Efficiency Coalition."

“The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, passed by Congress and signed by the President last December, contains a lighting efficiency section that will dramatically change consumer lighting in our nation by setting aggressive energy efficiency standardsfor most of the over four billion screw based lights in the US,” says Randy Moorhead, Philips Vice President for Government Affairs. “Together with lighting manufacturers, energy-efficiency advocates, and government officials, the Lighting Efficiency Coalition was able to urge quick enactment of new standards, and establish a model for all to follow as we explore new ways of meeting emerging energy-efficiency goals through lifestyle and legislative changes.”

The Alliance to Save Energy’s “Energy Stars” represent a diverse roster of individuals, companies, and government entities working to advance energy efficiency in noteworthy and creative ways. In addition to Philips, others recognized as 2008 Stars of Energy Efficiency by the Alliance to Save Energy are Federal Energy Regulatory Commissioner Jon Wellinghoff, global technology firm United Technologies Corp., tankless water heater manufacturer Rinnai Corp., the York County, VA, School Division, furnace fuel combustion innovator Jupiter Oxygen Corp., and Embraco, a Brazil-based company noted for state-of-the-art, high-efficiency refrigeration compressor technology.

“The Alliance to Save Energy commends this year’s stellar lineup of awardees for their significant contributions to energy efficiency,” says Alliance president Kateri Callahan. “Their leadership, innovation, and unflagging dedication truly make them ‘Stars of Energy Efficiency.’ Today’s rising and often record energy costs are squeezing consumer, government, and company budgets alike, making this an ideal time to celebrate those working to advance energy efficiency.”

All awards will be presented at the 16th annual Evening with the Stars of Energy Efficiency Awards Dinner on Thursday, September 25, at the historic Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

Suggested Articles:

Company appoints Alan Macpherson CEO Americas as well as BJ Shaver and William Cornell to Business Development Director positions

July 2 update on the possibility of Congress extending the Paycheck Protection Program.

Justin Casey pivoted his business and created a combination learning laboratory and livestream studio.