Meyer Sound Scholarship Winners Announced

Meyer Sound and Live Design are pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 John and Helen Meyer Scholarship to the Live Design Broadway Sound Master Classes (BSMC), which takes place this weekend, May 18-20 in New York City. This is the second year that the scholarships have been awarded, thanks to the generosity of Meyer Sound. The winners are a mix of students and young professionals:

Undergraduate students:
1. Jeff Sherwood, Oklahoma City University
2. Rebecca Stoll, Carnegie Mellon University School of Drama

Graduate students:
1. John DaSilva, BFA Sound Design, Penn State University

Working designers:
1. Anthony Mattana, BFA, Carnegie Mellon 2011
2. Katherine Vamva, Greece
3. Chris Wood, MFA, Indiana University 2011

“Broadway Sound Master Classes provides a great opportunity for those with a passion for theatrical art and a drive to learn from the industry’s best. Meyer Sound is pleased to continue our support for the program and the scholarship winners. We look forward to hearing their work on Broadway and beyond,” says Helen Meyer, executive vice president, Meyer Sound.

“Meyer Sound has been a strong supporter of the BSMC our first year, and we’re are extremely proud to further that relationship with the second annual Meyer Sound BSMC Scholarships,” says Live Design publisher David Johnson. “We applaud their commitment to the next generation of theatre sound designers with this endeavor.”

Related articles:

Suggested Articles:

Systems polymath and Entertainment industry veteran Jon Chavez has joined the Amazing Industries family as President.

Eastern Acoustic Works (EAW®) has appointed AudioPros as its manufacturer’s representative serving ME, NH, MA, VT, CT, RI, and metro and upstate NY.

Over 715 buildings across the UK lit up in red to symbolise the current danger that over one million people in the live events industry face