Martin Coppen Named for Lifetime Achievement in Music Video Cinematography


The 2002 Kodak Vision Lifetime Achievement Award in Cinematography from the Music Video Production Association was given to Martin Coppen at an Aug. 26 luncheon in Beverly Hills. Coppen, an English veteran of more than 500 music video shoots, was involved in the very first video aired on MTV, The Buggles' "Video Killed the Radio Star." He has been director of photography on music videos by such artists as Limp Bizkit, Lenny Kravitz, Lauryn Hill, N'Sync, Nine Inch Nails, Sheryl Crow, Alanis Morrissette, Sting, Christina Aguilera, Pink, and Britney Spears, among others, and won an MTV Video Music Award in 1999 for Marilyn Manson's "The Dope Show." He began his career lighting stage shows for David Bowie, Paul McCartney, and Genesis.

Also honored at the luncheon were this year's MTV Music Video Award nominees in cinematography. They are Karsten "Crash" Gopinath for Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott's "One Minute Man"; Pascal Lebegue for Shakira's "Whenever, Wherever"; John Perez for Alicia Keys' "A Woman's Worth"; and Brad Rushing for Moby's "We Are All Made of Stars."

Kodak has sponsored the Vision Lifetime Achievement Award since 1997. For more information, visit

Suggested Articles:

The deadline for the nominations to Live Design's Design Achievement Awards has been extended until Friday, August 21!

Howard Schultz, founder and former CEO of Starbucks sent a letter to all of our House and Senate members this morning. It is signed by over 100 CEOs.

Meet Jeroen Hallaert and learn all about PRG's Virtual Production Stage and the new technologies for feature films and television.