Live Design is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

American Music Awards 2015, with lighting design by Robert Dickinson. Photo by Kevin Winter, Getty Images. Kevin Winter, Getty Images
American Music Awards 2015, with lighting design by Robert Dickinson. Photo by Kevin Winter, Getty Images.

Live Design Awards To Be Presented June 13 In NYC

Six awards for excellence in design achievement will be presented to outstanding individual designers and design teams by Live Design magazine on Monday, June 13, 2016 at Upper Story by Charlie Palmer in New York City. The event, sponsored by Elation Professional, takes place from 6pm-8:30pm, with an earlier reception for winners, presenters, and sponsors.

The winners are:

Abe Jacobfor a legendary career in sound design. Broadway credits include: Rain (2010); Fascinating Rhythm (1999); Black And Blue (1989); Evita (1983); Dancin' (1978); Hair (1977); A Chorus Line (1975); Chicago (1975); Pippin (1972); sound consultant: New York City Ballet.

The Glass Menagerie, with Tony Award-winning lighting by Natasha Katz. Photo by Michael J. Lutch.

Natasha Katz, for sustained achievement in theatrical lighting design. Tony Award winner for the following Broadway productions: Aida; The Coast Of Utopia (Part 3); Once; and The Glass Menagerie. Credits include Aladdin, An American In Paris, and next up is the Broadway revival of CATS.

Beowulf Boritt, for innovation in scenic design on and off Broadway. Broadway credits include: Rock Of Ages; Bronx Bombers; Hand To God; On The Town; Therese Raquin; and Tony Award winner for Act One.  Plus 100 Off-Broadway productions.

Laura Frank, for technical excellence in media technology for television, special events, theatre, concerts, film, and corporate. Credits include Latin Grammy Awards, Matilda The Musical, Shrek The Musical, School Of Rock (film), People’s Choice Awards.

Full Flood, for the best in live broadcast lighting for awards shows and special events. Credits include major awards shows: Grammys, Oscars, American Music Awards, and the Super Bowl Halftime Show. The Full Flood team has won 24 Emmy Awards and represents over 150 years of industry experience.

Seven Design Works (LeRoy Bennett, Cory FitzGerald, and Tobias Rylander), for creativity in collaboration for concert tours, film, and television. Credits include: Lady Gaga; Tony Bennett; Beyoncé; Maroon 5; Bruno Mars; Deadmau5; The xx; The 1975.

Maroon 5 World Tour 2015, with production design by LeRoy Bennett. Photo by Adam Kaplan, ASK Media Productions.

These awards will be presented along with Live Design’s ninth annual Excellence Awards for outstanding achievement in design for projects occurring from January 2015 to December 2015, and Live Design’s annual picks for Products Of The Year in lighting, projection, and audio.

“We are looking forward to honoring some of the best in the business, in terms of people, projects, and products,” notes David Johnson, Live Design’s managing director. “This promises to be a very exciting evening with a few theatrical luminaries as presenters and a chance for the entertainment and design industry to celebrate its own.”

This year there are multiple sponsorship opportunities for companies to align themselves with the winners, both onsite and online. For more information on sponsorships, click here to download the PDF or contact David Johnson at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.