Bryce Culter Named 2017 Rising Star Award Winner Jesus Christ Superstar, 2015, photo: Bryce Cutler

Bryce Culter Named 2017 Rising Star Award Winner

Live Design/LDI is pleased to present the 2017 Rising Star Award to scenic and media designer Bryce Cutler. Established by LiveDesign/LDI in 2005, the annual award recognizes a young professional working in the disciplines of scenic, lighting, sound, or projection design. Cutler will be honored at the Conference & Stage Expo, which takes place in St. Louis, M0, on March 8-11, 2017. A Rising Star reception will be sponsored by Show Sage

“Bryce is as innovative and creative as he is professional,” says director and choreographer Jordan Nichols. “Bryce has the ability to create a vivid and dynamic canvas for costumes, lights, actors, and choreography to work together harmoniously.”

Cutler holds a BFA in scenic and media design from Carnegie Mellon University. He is co-founder of Third Space, a political theatre collective. He has worked at the Guthrie Theater, New York Stage and Film, the Folger Shakespeare Library, Abrons Arts Centre, HERE Arts, [email protected], Incubator Arts, and Playhouse on the Square. Previous designs include premieres by John Patrick Shanley, Dael Orlandersmith, and Steve Mackey. He also served as the art director for Comedy Central’s @Midnight: NYC, and his work has been published in the Contemporary Performance Almanac. He is the recipient of the Lloyd Weinger Award for Scenic Design and the 2015 ArtsImpulse Award for Best Projection Design for Jesus Christ Superstar.

“I am grateful for the opportunity, and I feel so honored to have been accepted for this award,” says Cutler.

Rising Star Award Winners

2016 Stephen Moss, lighting designer

2015 Chris Wood, lighting & sound designer

2014 Janie Bullard, sound designer

2013 Aaron Porter, lighting designer

2012 Jason Simms, scenic designer

2011 Daniel Brodie, projection designer

2010 Ben Pilat, lighting designer

2009 Sean Savoie, lighting designer

2008 Elisheba Ittoop, sound designer

2007 John Horan, lighting designer

2006 Justin Townsend, scenic and lighting designer

2005 Kelly Hanson, scenic designer 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.