2010 Drama Desk Awards Announced

The 55th Annual Drama Desk Awards were presented on Sunday, May 23, 2010 at the F.H. LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center in New York City. Former Drama Desk Award winner Patti LuPone hosted the awards ceremony. These awards have been presented since 1955 and cover excellence in Broadway, Off Off Broadway and legitimate not-for-profit theatres in New York.

The design winners are:
Outstanding Lighting Design In A Play:
Neil Austin, Red (Outstanding Play)

Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical: Acme Sound Partners, Ragtime

Outstanding Sound Design in a Play: Fitz Patton, When the Rain Stops Falling

Outstanding Set Design:
Phelim McDermott, Julian Crouch & Basil Twist, The Addams Family

Outstanding Costume Design: Matthew Wright, La Cage Aux Folles (Outstanding Revival of a Musical)

Related stories:

Red Recreates Rothko's Realm

Suggested Articles:

Yuko Taniguchi is the first international recipient of the Pat MacKay Diversity In Design Scholarship, encouraging diversity in the design community.

In this episode of Light Talk, the Lumen Brothers discuss everything from the end of architectural lighting to the 45th Anniversary of A Chorus Line.

Systems polymath and Entertainment industry veteran Jon Chavez has joined the Amazing Industries family as President.