LiveDesign LiveBlog

World Stage Design 2009 Award Winners Named

USITT has posted the winners from the 2009 World Stage Design competition which took place in Seoul, Korea, and proved to be quite a showcase of international design talent.

The winners include:

Outstanding Scenographer

Monica Raya (Mexico) for The Skin (set and costume), Rappaccini's Daughter (set, costume and lighting), Twelfth Night (set and light), Autopsy to a Snowflake (set and costume), and AUTOPSIA (lighting)

Set Design

* Gold Award: Liu Xinglin (China), Tangwan

* Silver Award: Judit Csanadi (Hungary), Peer Gynt, The Ambitious and The Flighty; and Dorita Hannah (New Zealand), Aarero Stone and Her Topia

* Honorable Mention: Tsang Man-Tung (Hong Kong, China), No End and Ubu Roi

Costume Design

* Gold Award: Dorita Hannah (New Zealand), Aarero Stone and Her Topia; and Heng-Cheng Lin (Taiwan), Lysistrata and Endgame

* Silver Award: Edyta Rzewuska (Mexico), Nezahualcóyotl; and Hye-sook Chang (Korea), The Dance of the Four Flying Gods in the Sky

Lighting Design

* Gold Award: Beto Bruel (Brazil), Not About Love

* Silver Award: Lee-Zen Michael Chien (Taiwan), Like Shadows

* Honorable Mention: Vinny Jones (Netherlands), tobetonotbe and de Monant

Sound Design

The Awards Jury was unable to come to a unanimous decision so it decided to divide the prize money among all contributors in the category.

* Jude Edgard C Balsamo (Phillipines), Amihan

* Curtis Craig (USA), Pentecost

* Igor Drevalev (Russia), The Black Monk

* Gregg R Fisher (UK), Sarajevo Story

* Elisheba Itoop (USA), Bent

* Jethro Joaquin (Phillipines), Hamlet

* Karen Lauke (UK), The Odyssey

* Richard Malone (USA), Female Transport

* Matthew Suttor (USA), The Trial of the Cannibal Dog Opera

* Richard K Thomas (USA), Henry V

* Bradlee Ward (USA), The Methuselah Tree

* Claire Windsor (UK), Palace of the End

* Chien Feng Wu (Taiwan), Love Letters

Congratulations to all the winners!

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.