USITT Accepting Nominations For Distinguished Achievement, Special Awards

USITT Distinguished Achievement Awards honor people whose careers have greatly contributed to a specific field of entertainment design or technology.

This year’s winners were Costume Designer Ann Roth, Scene Designer Eugene Lee, Lighting Designer Shirley Prendergast, Sound Designer Bob McCarthy, Production Manager Susan Threadgill, and Theatre Educator Dana Taylor.

The 2015 winners will be featured participants in USITT’s 2015 Annual Conference & Stage Expo, March 18-21 in Cincinnati.

USITT Special Achievement Awards include five different awards, none of which are necessarily given annually. They are:

• The USITT Award, USITT’s highest honor, recognizes a lifetime contribution to the performing arts or entertainment communities.

• The Thomas DeGaetani Award honors an important contributor to the arts in the area of that year’s USITT Conference (hint: Someone in Cincy).

• The Joel E. Rubin Founder’s Award recognizes extraordinary service to USITT.

• The Honorary Lifetime Member Award grants lifetime USITT membership to someone who has contributed many years of their life to the Institute.

• Special Citations may be awarded to any individual or organization for outstanding achievement in any area of the performing arts.

USITT Distinguished and Special Award winners bring excitement, expertise, and inspiration to the annual Conference & Stage Expo. For more information on the awards, please visit

USITT, the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, is the national non-profit serving designers and technicians in the performing arts and live entertainment. USITT membership offers networking, training, safety, information, and creative opportunities to the theatre tech industry. More at